For want of a greenhouse!

10

March 6, 2013 by Hannah

image

For want of a greenhouse I have germinated all my seeds in plastic bags and then appropriated any available windowsill in the house (to some people’s chagrin!).

These are my cauliflower and cabbage seedlings, the cauliflower is ‘All the year round’, and the cabbage is ‘Giant of June’, I’ve never grown them before but they seem quite hardy.

The tomato seeds, which are swathed in clingfilm to keep them warm, are called ‘Outdoor Girl’. They germinated very well but only time will tell if I can raise them to adulthood.

I have many more seedlings on many more windowsills but you’ll just have to wait to see those!

10 thoughts on “For want of a greenhouse!

  1. Anna B says:

    Looking good! My windowsills are crammed at the minute too šŸ™‚

    • Hannah says:

      I’m just worried about my tomato seedlings. I might have to invest in a heated propagator šŸ˜¦ Thanks for the comment!

      • Anna B says:

        How are the tomatoes doing? I start mine in a heated propagator, but to be honest tomatoes are really tough and will grow pretty much anyhow, anywhere. I have them coming up in my greenhouse from seeds that were randomly dropped in previous years!!

      • Hannah says:

        They’re going quite slowly. I have to go to B&Q to get some more potting compost tomorrow so I might check to see if they have any propagators. Would you have any suggestions?

  2. We’re very lucky to have a greenhouse, at the moment our tomatoes and chillies are in the house but by the end of next month the greenhouse will be bulging at the seams!

    • Hannah says:

      Ooh, I’m so envious! Having a real glass house would be a dream come true. Hopefully the ‘Outdoor Girl’ tomatoes will actually stand up to being put outside! Thanks for the comment:)

  3. Flighty says:

    I’m trying Outdoor Girl this year but waiting for it to warm up a bit before sowing them to put on a window sill. They’ll then go out on the plot later where I hope I get some ripe tomatoes before the inevitable blight strikes. It’ll be interesting to see how we both get on with these. xx

    • Hannah says:

      It will indeed. Even if mine stay green I’m intent on making green tomato pesto Ć  la Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall. Although I’ll certainly be spurred on by some friendly competition!

  4. Even though I have a greenhouse I am bringing most pots inside the house, a mouse has eaten the sweet peas and something munched on the cabbages so I had to resow everything. Creatures are so frustrating.

    • Hannah says:

      I have a mouse problem as well next to my cloches, and have no idea how to get rid of them. I don’t want to poison them because we have owls, but since they’re outside I don’t think a trap would be effective.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

aho's homemade food

The universe is a big place, perhaps the biggest.

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

The Garden Smallholder

A Tiny Farm In A Big Garden

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

