List Making and Breaking

13

March 22, 2013 by Hannah

My week, like most weeks, started with good intentions. I made a list, invested in a new pair of wellies and set out with shovel in hand; but like all the best laid plans of mice and men things began to unravel. I did manage to sort out most of the overcrowding problem on the windowsills and germinating bags, but there most of the good news ends.

Cramped Courgettes

Cramped Courgettes

image

Happy Courgettes

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’d forgotten to order courgettes from seedparade, so these were chucked in a trolley on my grocery trip, with little hope that they’d match the real deal from a professional seed distributor. However, they have proved me wrong and if they were were able to sing they’d have a good sob story for the X-factor.

Tomatoes- Golden Sunrise

Tomatoes- Golden Sunrise

Snug tomatoes

Snug tomatoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m now beginning to have some confidence in my tomato potting abilities, but I shied away from the Sweet Williams, Pansies and Forget-me-not’s even though they’ve germinated. After destroying all my Canterbury Bells from over enthusiastic potting a few weeks ago I’m not going to make the same mistake twice.

Cross Potatoes

Hot Potatoes- Ready for planting!

So not only have I completed very little of my list but I’ve also failed to plant my chitting potatoes, which means they will have to wait until next week. For some inexplicable reason this failure (among my many this week) has cut me to the quick. I’m probably doing the right thing given the vagaries of the weather, and I know it sounds silly but I just had my heart set on getting the spuds in this week.

Mouse hole

Mouse hole No.1

Mouse hole No.2. Hopefully not rat...

Mouse hole No.2.
Hopefully not rat…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Something else which has put my plans out of action are a nest of mice which have taken up residence in my raised beds. There are owls on the farm so I don’t want to lay down poison, but neither do I want to share my lettuce with the tiny four legged foe. I’ve tried blocking the holes but they only seem to get bigger! Any advice would be much appreciated, and fingers crossed next week, the dreaded house work and weather permitting I’ll get my list completed!

13 thoughts on “List Making and Breaking

  1. Eliza says:

    Hi Hannah, Eliza here – (Fiona’s friend and twas she told me about your blog which I’m enjoying very much!) Get your cat moving after those mice.!…..a few years back I did a VEC veg gardening course and my wonderful teacher Marie writes a funny blog too…..should you be interested it’s called Blood Sweat and Peas. Also I didn’t get my spuds in this week…..feeling just like you. But given the weather maybe it’s for the best.

    • Hannah says:

      Hi Eliza! Our cat’s main place of residence is next to the AGA. She doesn’t seem too keen to relinquish her treasured spot so she may need a firm push out the door one of these days.

  2. No potato planting going on here yet either. It’s blowing a gale out there with snow whirling around at times, brrrr! With regards to mice holes in your raised beds, from my experience there’s usually a nest lurking just underneath the soil (or very nearby). Just be careful with the fork and spade when you do start planting…….Yikes! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hannah says:

      That’s my main worry. I’ve already been subject to some rustlings and flurries of tails. If I actually start digging I may have unwanted furry visitors in my wellies!

  3. pianolearner says:

    wow that’s a lot of spuds!

  4. my potatoes are still on the window sill, every time we have a few nice days it goes right back to freezing again, so frustrating. As far as veg goes I don’t have one things in the ground yet which is very unusual. Yikes, mice in your beds? I feel for you, I am a coward, absolutely terrified of mice, lucky for me they didn’t move into my garden and only pop in for food, too many cats around. But the cats started to treat my garden as a toilet, I made a few nasty discoveries today and covered the areas with thorny branches, hope they won’t find that pleasant!

    • Hannah says:

      It’s hard to figure out which one is the worst of the garden pests, mice eat your strawberries, but then cats sully your beds and eat the frogs which consume the dreaded slugs!
      I’m also a coward when it comes to mice, if I ever do tackle the beds I’m going to keep my dog on a leash beside me.

  5. Cathy says:

    Ah – lists are good, as you can tick things off, and the list continues to glare at you until you do! Tell us about your tomatoes in the bags – or is that in an earlier post?

    • Hannah says:

      The one’s in the bag are ‘Golden Sunrise’ I think, I’m a bit nervous about them as I haven’t grown tomatoes before. I have another variety called ‘Outdoor Girl’ which I germinated earlier in the spring but I think my lack of a warm spot for them is affecting their growth:(
      Thanks for the comment!

  6. croftgarden says:

    Rodent foes, It is either a trap (a live trap if you can’t face the lethal variety). The voles on our croft seem to be capable of chewing through any barrier I can devise, eviction posters and warnings have no effect, so it is the live trap and a hope that the short-eared owls will return this summer to breed.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

aho's homemade food

โ€œThe only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook.โ€ Julia Child

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

