Slug Attack?

11

March 28, 2013 by Hannah

Whilst pottering around my potager and generally distracting myself from my task in hand, which was digging over the veg patch, I saw something which sent terrified tingles up my spine. The leaves on my over-wintered swede appeared to have been nibbled by something.

image

Slug attack?

I found this disturbing as I was hoping that I wouldn’t have to deal with the dreaded slug until warmer months. The whole point of over wintering veg is to avoid the carnivorous caterpillar and her friend the slug. I’ve spread out some pellets which claim to be organic garden friendly, as I reckon a beer trap would be washed out in this weather. Hopefully that’ll sort the slugs out!

image

Bonjour Pierre!

On a happier note my new rose ‘Pierre de Ronsard’, has just unfurled his first petals. It’s a nice reminder that this winterish spring will end and that there are more fruit, flowers and veg to come!

11 thoughts on “Slug Attack?

  1. beeseeker says:

    Maybe it’s pigeons ??

    • Hannah says:

      More likely since I live next to a hill, but wouldn’t they have done more damage?

      • beeseeker says:

        Not sure what weather you are having over there, but it’s far too frosty here for slugs and pigeons will come back over a succession of days (in increasing numbers!) to “finish off” whatever is left.
        Maybe try a few bird scarer tricks?

      • Hannah says:

        It’s pretty frosty here too, which was why I was unsure about my slugs verdict. Thanks for the heads up, I’ll be out first thing tomorrow with an effigy of my old French teacher!

  2. thesneakymagpie says:

    I also think it’s birds, they are hungry now with this horrid weather there is nothing else for them to eat. I haven’t seen any slugs yet however something munched on my cavolo nero so perhaps they are sneaking around!

  3. Flighty says:

    I agree that it was probably birds that did that. xx

  4. Hannah, A trick I use for slugs is an upturned garden pot with one edge slightly lifted up with a stone. In the AM check the underside of the pot and drown any slugs in a small bucket of soapy water. Diatimacious earth is another good remedy that will cut the slugs as they cross, so surround your affected plants. Also ROW COVER is excellent for moths, beetles, and the like. Good luck!

  5. I love the beer trap solution. I don’t like the slugs, and they have to go. However, at least with beer, they die happy. ~James

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

