Easter

13

March 31, 2013 by Hannah

I was a little torn this Easter between the traditional baking and the traditional potato planting. The weather kindly guided my decision and so the focus was on baking, although I did squeeze in some seed planting too.

image

My first attempt at fulfilling Easter baking tradition was a Simnel Cake, so called according to Good Housekeeping, because it was created by two children called Simon and Nell. The eleven balls of marzipan represent apostles, Judas is obviously excluded as a persona non grata. You’re supposed to decorate the cake with chicks and chocolate eggs, but I couldn’t find any, so a cut out robin was used as a stand in.

image

Better than M&S, methinks!

A certain someone then claimed that homemade hot cross buns could never beat the perfection of the shop one’s from M&S. Needless to say I took up the challenge! I sort of followed the Paul Hollywood recipe, me being me though I had to add an extra spoon of cinnamon and a few less sultanas.

image

Cucumber-Marketmore

image

Chilli- Jalapeño

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was more than a little surprised to peer over the top of the kitchen bookcase (a very warm spot), and discover that my cucumber and chilli seedlings had germinated more speedily than expected.

They were duly planted out of their germinating bags, and so ended a rather lovely Easter. I am now going to lie belly up on the sofa and nibble at one of my delicious hot cross buns!

13 thoughts on “Easter

  1. Mmmm I do love a hot cross bun, the extra hit of cinnamon sounds like a good idea to me 😉

  2. Flighty says:

    The cake and buns both look delicious. I’m still waiting to plant the first of my potatoes too. xx

  3. pianolearner says:

    I’ve never tried Hot-cross buns, they look great . Thanks for the link to the recipe

  4. izabi says:

    Hi , I have nominated you for Versatile Blogger Award.Check it out here
    http://ahohomemadefood.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/versatile-blogger-award/
    congrats! おめでとう!

  5. thesneakymagpie says:

    Happy Easter! Lovely hot cross buns, I had my fair share this weekend too, although not home baked. Great news about the cucumber seedlings! Mine are not happening but the carrot seeds germinated after two months, that’s something.

    • Hannah says:

      Thanks, it’s the first time I’ve tried them so I’m quite chuffed with myself. It’s just trying to keep them alive and growing now. Well done with your carrot seedlings! I was foolhardy enough to plant mine out and they succumbed to the frost:(

  6. Fiona Quinn says:

    I was fortunate enough to have occasion to taste these hot cross buns on Easter Sunday whilst sitting next to a roaring fire in convivial company, and I have to state, without prejudice, that they are absolutely the most scrumptiously delicious hot cross buns ever – baked to perfection and spread with lightly salted butter – the stuff that culinary dreams are made of!! I’ll be back for more!
    😛

  7. snowbird says:

    How delicious! Just popping over from Flighty’s as he gave you a mention.xxxx

  8. Nothing beats a homemade hot cross bun does it, they are miles apart from the squidgy shop bought versions. Yours look delicious! Great to see seedlings emerging isn’t it, my chillis are just starting to appear.

    • Hannah says:

      So true. I didn’t like them at all before I made them myself! Congrats on the chillies, it’s lovely to see something you germinated yourself getting bigger:)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

aho's homemade food

“The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook.” Julia Child

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

