Plant Procurement

10

April 28, 2013 by Hannah

This week has been a busy one in terms of work and gardening. Luckily one has lent (financial pun intended) a hand to another and I have spent a very pleasurable Sunday afternoon with my mother searching for plants for my new flower border.

Photo on 2013-04-28 at 20.25

Senetti – Bicolour Blue

Having worked in the retail industry as a lowly shop girl I am very aware of the price mark up on most items, I am also well aware that my pockets are not particularly deep. This means that my forays into plant foraging are usually kept to the ‘bargain’ areas where unloved, battered plants have been abandoned to their fates. I usually find that with a little TLC they spring back to life.

Photo on 2013-04-28 at 20.26

Senetti tenderly planted in an old bucket until it recovers from it’s ordeal in the bargain bin.

I bought some tomatoes, as my seedlings are still very small, a foxglove for 50 cent, the rather lovely spring flowering Senetti and some little plants which I can’t remember the name of but promise to provide ground covering blue flowers.

Photo on 2013-04-28 at 20.23

‘Outdoor Girl’ and ‘Cupido’ which sounds suspiciously like ‘Stupido’…

I’m hoping that all of this will help the bees this year which you all probably know need a little TLC  themselves after the winter. I’ve been doing some reading up about them and following help the bees on Twitter. I think that it’s incredibly important as the bees play a fundamental role in the pollination of our plants and fruit. Our apple crop was very low last year which I put down to the bees decline in recent years. Hopefully, some extra blooms in the potager will make them even happier as I’ve already seen a few floating around the blackcurrant blossom.

10 thoughts on “Plant Procurement

  1. Flighty says:

    I think that’s it’s usually well worth buying such plants, and well done on helping the bees. xx

  2. thesneakymagpie says:

    Great finds, I love the cheap sections too, there is something fulfilling in nursing plants back to health. The foxglove will provide you with endless plants, it selfseeds so well. I am getting rather obsessed with getting enough flowers for bees and butterflies. I also had a poor apple crop last year, the spring was so wet there were hardly any bees around.

    • Hannah says:

      Apparently the EU have just banned farmers from using neoncitides (don’t think I spelt that properly), which was supposed to have affected the bees memory. The only thing is now that farmers will use older pesticides which have had even less testing:(
      I didn’t know that about foxgloves self-seeding, that should save me a few more pence! I’ll have to be careful that the donkeys don’t break in though and eat it!

  3. Annette says:

    It’s quite strange how little people seem to care about the fact that we’re losing more and more bees. Have you seen the film “More than honey”?

    • Hannah says:

      No, I haven’t. I’ll have to have a look for it. I take it that it’s about bees?

      • Annette says:

        Yes, it’s an eye-opener really, afterwards you’ll certainly never wonder again why bees die. I was heartbroken after watching it. I also didn’t know that China has no bees at all anymore and relies on hand-pollination only (imagine that!). Check out youtube…

      • Hannah says:

        That’s terrible! Although with China I get the feeling that they just don’t care as long as it doesn’t get in the way of mass production.

  4. Jo says:

    Thanks for your lovely blog. I have just been raiding the bargin bin for flowers for the bees we keep too! Hopefully they come good to add some colour for them this winter. I find it a bit hit snd miss but perennials are much more likely to give me success.

    • Hannah says:

      Hey Jo, most of the ones I picked up seem to be perking up after some TLC. I think you’re right about the perennials being a bit hardier though! Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

aho's homemade food

The universe is a big place, perhaps the biggest.

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

The Garden Smallholder

A Tiny Farm In A Big Garden

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

