Tired of Waiting

14

May 2, 2013 by Hannah

There comes a time in someone’s life where they become tired of waiting; fed up of hearing that the ground is too wet, the weather won’t hold and that all budding plans must be subject to a cessation until someone in the know tells you otherwise. This week was one in which I became very tired of waiting.

image

Ground before tractor

image

Ground and fence after tractor. May have to rebuild fence…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I did some things which were questionable but pardonable, and with the wire cutters in one hand and the keys to the tractor in the other I managed to get the wheels in motion on some tasks that I wanted to do.

image

Vibrant, unwanted, soon to be covered grass

image

Patch of grass patchily covered

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My primary aim was to get all the well rotted horse manure out of the muck heap with the tractor. I’d covered a large patch of ground with black polythene which was going to be covered with the muck, mainly because I was just not willing to do anymore double digging on my own this year. I also think that all the muck will make an ideal spot for the pumpkins and courgettes. I have to confess that I may have stolen that idea from one of my fellow gardening bloggers.

image

My prospective flower border. Under cover for months to kill the dock leaves.

image

Freshly planted flower bed. Complete with Lupins, Senetti, Blue bells, a foxglove and Gentian Blues.

image

New hazel hurdle which curves around the circle. Made by moi!

image

New stone/wood edge to the raised pumpkin bed. Not made by moi….

You may have noticed from the pics that I didn’t actually manage to get all the black polythene covered. This is where I put my hands up and admit that the ground was too wet. Not too wet to get 4 loads of manure down before the tractor tracks became a real issue though! I just have to keep my fingers crossed that the sun will stay out so I can surreptitiously start up the tractor again soon

14 thoughts on “Tired of Waiting

  1. Flighty says:

    Definitely a work in progress which I’m sure will look great once it’s all done. I like your fence! xx

  2. I love the curve of your hazel hurdle – very pleasing. At least you managed to get quite a lot done. Some of our soil is OK to work and other areas need a bit longer and a lot of patience, which is in very short supply now that the weather is improving!

    • Hannah says:

      I know, this month is such a crucial one for gardeners’ in terms of what we sow now (or forget to sow) will affect our gardens in the months to come. Thanks for the compliment!

  3. croftgarden says:

    Well there comes a time when you just have to get on even if it means borrowing the tractor! Your garden is starting to take shape and you’ll be surprised how quickly it will change.
    I’m still muttering waiting for the weather to give me a break and at least let me get out the door!

    • Hannah says:

      I know how you feel, one minute the sun is shining and then it’s back to the rain again. Thanks for the reassuring words, I feel like I’m actually beginning to slowly steer my garden in the direction I want it to go in!

  4. Caro says:

    Hello Hannah, I’ve just discovered your blog via Christina at Hesperides Garden and have signed up for email posts. You sound like a very determined woman to me – I’m looking forward to reading how your garden progresses!!

  5. Anna B says:

    Loving your hazel hurdle and pumpkin bed wall! That’s great! I felt like you a few weeks back, then all of a sudden the weather changed and everything came into flower and all my seeds needed sowing all in one go! I’m still catching up! Like you, I’d done a lot of jobs that I could do whilst getting bored waiting and I am soooo pleased I did that because it’s full on – all hands to the deck now!

  6. snowbird says:

    That hazel hurdle is fantastic! And, the flower border should be soooooo pretty. I get sick of the weather and the endless waiting too….xxxxx

  7. Annette says:

    You’re such a busy girl, Hannah! Great stuff…I’m looking forward to the development of your new border and the mega pumpkins in autumn. Fingers crossed for better weather πŸ™‚ , take care!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

aho's homemade food

β€œThe only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook.” Julia Child

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

