Summer Blooms

12

May 27, 2013 by Hannah

Finally the bad weather seems to have broken and the sun is shining for at least most of the day. I know that this time of year is all about Chelsea, but for those of us who live too far away to visit here’s a podcast which I thought painted an interesting picture of the displays and what they represented to the horticultural community.

image

Our Azalea, whose brilliance I can’t really take credit for.

I’m having a slight problem with my cucumbers and aubergines. It’s my first time growing them, and I’m not sure what they expect of me or what I should expect of them in a moist climate and unheated plastic greenhouse. I’ve potted them on but any advice would be greatly appreciated!

image

Sleek chillies and aubergines

image

The tiny plastic greenhouse has been tied down to ensure that it doesn’t blow down in the wind again.

image

Furry, fast growing cucumbers

image

Strawberry blossoms starting to show on most of the plants

The mostly fine weather has given the summer flowers the impetus to blossom. So this week, I’m just going to soak up the sunshine and enjoy rambling leisurely about the potager after a fairly dismal winter and spring!

image

After a hard pruning last year, the clematis sulked and refused to flower. This year, evidently all is forgiven and it’s back to its former glory!

12 thoughts on “Summer Blooms

  1. Cindy Helens says:

    Your clematis is really adorable.

  2. snowbird says:

    Your chillies look wonderful, mine have only just germinated. Re your cucumbers and aubergines, I tend to grow mine in full sun and water often. Some years they do great but other years like last year are total failures. They hate the cold.xxxx

    • Hannah says:

      Thank you very much for the advice. I’m very happy with my chillies, I had less success with my tomatoes but that’s because I germinated them too soon. Live and learn I suppose!

  3. pianolearner says:

    That Clematis is huge. What Chillies are your growing? we are doing Hungarian hot wax (very mild)

    • Hannah says:

      It is massive alright. There’s been a few discussions about its future since it is just bare and barren looking for half the year, but it does look lovely when it blossoms. The chillies are jalapeños, I’m not quite sure how I’m going to nurse them all to adulthood!

  4. Flighty says:

    I try to grow outdoor cucumbers, but not aubergines, but never really have much success with them.
    Terrific looking azalea, and it seems to have been a good for for clematis. xx

    • Hannah says:

      Thanks, the cucumbers are Marketmore. Which variety do you usually have. The clematis boss has just told me she’s been giving it tomato feed on the sly.

      • Flighty says:

        I’m trying Straight Eight this year, but I usually buy a couple of Bedfordshire Prize plants. Marketmore is a good outdoor variety. Plant them out in a sunny spot protected from the wind, with a couple of feet of elbow room.
        No wonder your clematis looks so good then! xx

      • Hannah says:

        Thanks for the advice:)

  5. sneakymagpie says:

    I have never grown aubergines but cucumbers go outside and get plenty of water and manure and seem happy. good luck!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

aho's homemade food

“The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook.” Julia Child

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

