Hello Again!

8

August 13, 2013 by Hannah

Hello again! My fingers are typing rather tentatively as I realise just how long it has been since I ventured from the depths of my potager and back to wi-fi and what should be a weekly blog update. I can only apologise for my summer sabbatical and contritely confess that I employed a laissez faire gardening technique over the heat of the summer months.

IMG_9762

Fruits of the ‘laissez faire method’. Even simpler than ‘no dig method’.

This has had some interesting results. My courgettes have turned into marrows. The fruitfulness of their bulk is certainly welcome, but not quite manageable. So far I’ve gone as far as to make courgette lasagne, bread and even chocolate cake!

IMG_9763

Beware the beast lurking under the furry leaf.
(Mammoth marrow No.10)

All have been dutifully swallowed, but I have noticed the new practice at the dinner table of sifting through anything vaguely murky looking encase of incoming courgette.

IMG_9765

Thorny cucumber Marketmore. Thorns are wipeable for salad purposes.

Another bountiful although slightly more welcome success are the cucumbers which I grew from seed and if you recall used to be tiny. You can now see a spiky unashamedly phallic looking one poking out from under a spiky leaf.

Now that the summer daylight is dwindling I’m trying to focus on autumn veg and one that I always look forward to our pumpkins. This years crop’s bellies are swelling nicely and I’m looking forward to plenty of warming pumpkin and coconut soup in the coming colder months!

IMG_9760

‘Big Max’ beginning to fulfil the prerequisites of it’s name.

8 thoughts on “Hello Again!

  1. Annette says:

    Welcome back 🙂 and your laissez faire approach certainly did the trick. Try courgette cake (with pineapples, absolutely delicious) and just pick them as long as they’re tiny, flower and all. The horror is they get so huge in practically no time. Enjoy your harvest 🙂

  2. Flighty says:

    I like the idea of ‘laissez faire’ gardening!
    I once got asked how big courgettes grow so I left one to keep growing and was surprised at just how big it eventually got.
    I’ve had a handful of cucumbers from a plant that I grew from seed, which was a first for me. xx

  3. snowbird says:

    How lovely to see your produce growing. I must remember to grow pumpkins, every single year I forget.

    Goodness me….what on earth does courgette chocolate cake taste like? I’ve never heard of it.

    I must admit, I a little sick of eating my cucumbers!xxxx

    • Hannah says:

      I’m getting to that stage with my courgettes, everywhere I turn they’re there! Courgette chocolate cake keeps very well and most important of all does not taste of courgette! I followed a BBC website recipe.

  4. My courgettes and pumpkins have invaded the garden also, and I love chocolate and courgette cake. I also have huge cucumbers, I grew La Diva this year and they are so delicious. Glad you are back!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

aho's homemade food

The universe is a big place, perhaps the biggest.

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

The Garden Smallholder

A Tiny Farm In A Big Garden

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

