Apple Picking Time

11

September 19, 2013 by Hannah

It is that rather lovely time of year again when the limbs of our apple trees are bowed down with the weight of their bounty, and the hues of the various apple skins glint in the evening sun.

DSC_0116

We have about nine apple trees in total, some cooking, some eating; the only one I’m certain of is the ever reliable Beauty of Bath which was the favourite of my great grandmother and does her proud every year.

DSC_0114

Camera shy geese, fleeing the scene of their theiving

Although the apples have not suffered any attacks from the crows they have come to the notice of the geese and the turkey. I don’t begrudge them the windfalls as I feel it will add even more flavour to them when they’re presented at the Christmas table. Ha, little do they suspect their fate!

11 thoughts on “Apple Picking Time

  1. croftgarden says:

    The perfect combination an orchard with geese.

  2. snowbird says:

    Oh you can’t beat an orcard in September. Oh nooooooo….poor geese….xxxx

  3. Flighty says:

    Lucky you having apple trees. I eat one most days, and remember picking them off my parents trees a very long time ago at this time of year. xx

  4. Annette says:

    How many geese and turkeys do you keep? Are they all for the xmas table? What do you do with all the apples?

    • Hannah says:

      We are unfortunately down to one turkey as Penny was taken by the fox. We have about 10 geese, 3 of which are the parents. None of our turkey eggs hatched out this year so Horace’s fertility is being called into question.

      We try to pick most of the apples and store them outside in boxes, and use them during the winter for pies. They keep quite well as long as you don’t put any bruised apples in.

  5. Caro says:

    I dream of having an orchard like yours. When I was young, my parents rented a huge house with an orchard at the bottom of the garden, it was idyllic. My grandfather also had numerous apple and pear trees in his garden. Living in London, however, I’m unlikely to achieve my dream unless I can persuade other tenants here how lovely the gardens could be with more fruit trees!

    • Hannah says:

      You have my commiserations! An apple tree is so beautiful, especially at blossom time. Would you have room for an ornamental crab apple tree? They’re a bit tricky to find but they’re small, beautiful and you can make crab apple jelly with the fruit. We have one and I have my heart set on getting some more because they’re so pretty!

  6. Anna B says:

    Wow 9 trees!! That’s awesome! I have pink lady apples and they ripen a bit earlier so I’m nearly through all mine. I just love having my own apples 🙂 Have fun!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

