Promising Pumpkins

6

October 13, 2013 by Hannah

I grow pumpkins for one reason and reason alone, and that is so that they will meet with my godson’s approval. After a summer of tenderly surrounding fat little hairy pumpkin  leaves with a shovelfuls of well rotted horse manure I have managed to elicit his hard won admiration.

My godson and his friend were duly impressed and have laid claim to the biggest pumpkin, with instructions that I am to have a back up ready for Halloween.

Image

I’m annoyed I didn’t weigh it, as I can see from other blogs that there is something of a friendly competition taking place! I’ll just have to make sure that the next one is even bigger.

6 thoughts on “Promising Pumpkins

  1. Flighty says:

    Well done, that looks most impressive. I’ll have to try growing them one year. xx

  2. snowbird says:

    How cute is that pic and how lovely you grow them for your Godson….I hope yours turns out to be the biggest!xxxx

  3. Caro says:

    The horse manure does the trick! – at our local City Farm, all the stable straw and droppings is shovelled out into a big area for rotting down. One whole section is given over to growing pumpkins and they get some wonderfully big ones come autumn! The one that you’ve grown looks very impressive – you’ll be hard pushed to do better for a back up!!

    • Hannah says:

      I know, I know! Especially with as strict a judge as my godson, whose out measuring them weekly!
      Horse manure and straw really is the best combination, I think it’s categorised as a warm manure for plants.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

