An Abundance of Berries!

8

October 25, 2013 by Hannah

DSC_0139

I love these crisp late autumn evenings, when all the lush harvest goodies ripen and the long toil of the summer months pays off. Recently I ventured out after work with my basket in hand to go foraging for blackberries. The funny thing about blackberries is that even though there seems to be plenty of them peaking out from the bushes, they always take hours to pick!

DSC_0140

Two hours of picking left….

After the first 10 minutes, I tend to get into the swing of it though. I feel a bit like a little child sneaking back through the fields in the dusk expecting my dinner to be on the table. Thankfully, this time it was!

DSC_0151

Pretty in Pink

A tamer adventure is my raspberry picking. This usually happens after a brief bit of weeding, and a wander down to my pretty pink autumn raspberries. They are then shoved unceremoniously into my pockets, and when they’re full I toddle back into the house and put them in a freezer bag.

All being well, there should be jam aplenty in the months to come.

8 thoughts on “An Abundance of Berries!

  1. snowbird says:

    What a wonderful thing to be out and about berry picking. Save a jar of jam for me mind….xxxx

  2. Flighty says:

    Lucky you still picking blackberries and raspberries. xx

    • Hannah says:

      Autumn fruiting raspberries are the best! I actually have a long forgotten strawberry plant in the greenhouse which is suddenly sprouting little green strawberries. Bizarre!

  3. Enjoy your yummy looking berries. Blessings, Natalie

  4. Caro says:

    I haven’t had time to go blackberry picking this year but love apple and blackberry jam, so delicious! I had to chuckle at the thought of you cramming raspberries into your pockets as that’s where my impromptu harvests end up! But with raspberries, I make the effort to go home and get a plastic tray – the Autumn Bliss berries that I grow are a bit on the soft side so if they went into pockets I’d have ready made jam in there!! Enjoy the autumn while it lasts!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

aho's homemade food

The universe is a big place, perhaps the biggest.

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

The Garden Smallholder

A Tiny Farm In A Big Garden

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

