Custodian of the Seedlings!

11

November 10, 2013 by Hannah

This month, I have been given the honour and onerous task of guarding my mother’s seedlings against the vagaries of winter’s frosty fingers. She has already suffered at the hands of a peaty compost which was too rich for the freshly germinated striplings, and they withered with the onslaught of so many nutrients.

DSC_0166

 

So now it is up to me to guard the remainder of her babies. I have been left with firm instructions and have been attempting to fulfil them to the best of my abilities. They seem (so far), to be thriving and have grown an extra little leaf in the past week. It’s lovely to see a tiny bit of greenery and fresh life blooming as winter is still squeezing the sunlight out of the days.

11 thoughts on “Custodian of the Seedlings!

  1. snowbird says:

    Good luck with the seedlings….I do hope they continue to thrive. What are they?xxxx

  2. They do seem to be doing splendidly well. I’m sure they will be fine in your care. Blessings, Natalie

  3. Annette says:

    Quite a task, Hannah, and I keep my fingers crossed for you because it’s very hard to get them through if you don’t have a heated greenhouse with appropriate light. I don’t sow too soon as seedling eventually get leggy and fall over…a bit like ourselves as we struggle through winter šŸ˜‰

  4. Flighty says:

    Good luck, if I was you I would be filled with trepidation! xx

  5. Caro says:

    I echo Flighty’s comment, Hannah! Rather you than me – it’s a huge responsibility looking after someone else’s seedlings, let alone your own! Good luck – I’m sure your mum has absolute faith in you!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

Travel Tales With A Twist

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Croft Garden

Coastal garden in Outer Hebrides

home, garden, life

home, garden, life ~ sharing a sustainable lifestyle

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

