A day of reckoning

5

November 18, 2013 by Hannah

There is a day that creeps up on us here on the farm, and this is market day. The time for selling this years calves, or weanlings, has arrived. It is close to being my least favourite day of the year, and I feel as conflicted about it as when I was a child. It’s a little foolish of me, I know, but when you see something being born, growing up and then have to sell it, it does hurt a little.

DSC_0166

The boss gives the babies a final feed before they go.

 

Now I know that in cattle terms our cows have got it fairly easy. As members of the pure bred hereford elite, they have nothing but long days of good feeding and bovine love making to look forward to. They won’t be sent to a meat factory and neither (probably) will their offspring.

This does comfort me a little, but I still miss my favourite Mathilde. She was born at 2am, on a cold frosty February morning, the same day as my birthday. I checked her mother hourly, which was lucky, because Mathilde was such a big calf that her mother was too exhausted after giving birth to lick off the amniotic sack, and Mathilde would have suffocated if someone hadn’t been there to remove it quickly.

But Mathilde is off, hopefully to start a famous bloodline all of her own and I can only, from the bottom of my childish heart wish her well.

5 thoughts on “A day of reckoning

  1. snowbird says:

    Awwwww….I’m totally with you, I’d miss them too, especially the special one you saved.xxx

  2. pianolearner says:

    I think I’m a little too sentimental to be a farmer….

  3. Sweet story. I’d hate seeing them go too especially Mathilde. Blessings, Natalie

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Posts

Clairesallotment's Blog

Sharing hints, tips and gardening triumphs!

The Natural Poultry Farming Guide

A complete guide to natural organic ethical poultry keeping

thetattooedgardener

Just another WordPress.com site

Rambling in the Garden

.....and nurturing my soul

GALLIVANCE

FASCINATED BY THE WORLD

aho no toko

Open your mind, get up off the couch, move.

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Outer Isles Gardening

Gardening in a Gale

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

pianolearner

The ramblings of an adult learning the piano

wellywoman

A Life in Wellies

not just greenfingers

Mrs Thrift's Simple Living in the Modern Day......Kitchen Garden, Allotment, Baking And More...

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

The Anxious Gardener

A Gardening Blog. Mostly